Tooele High School

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Community Council

Upcoming Meetings: 2nd or 3rd Wednesday bi-monthly at 5:00 in the Library
 
Wednesday, September 19, 2018- agenda   &  minutes
Wednesday, November 14, 2018- agenda &   minutes
Wednesday, January 16, 2019 
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
 
 
2018-19 Community Council Members

Name

Role

Email

Phone number

Mike Boren  Parent mike.boren1993@gmail.com  
Jared Bunn Parent jbunn@brokenarrowusa.com  
Catham Beer Teacher cbeer@tooeleschools.org  
Robert Gowans  Teacher rgowans@tooeleschools.org  
Jeff Hamm Principal jhamm@tooeleschools.org  
Lisha Hogan Parent (non-voting) lishahogan@gmail.com  
Amy Jordan  Chair amy.jordan@msn.com  801-597-6683
Lezlee Pollmann Vice-Chair lpollmann@tooeleschools.org  435-833-1978
Nathan Pollman  Parent npollma@gmail.com  

Past Community Council Minutes:
September 20, 2017- agenda   minutes
November 15, 2017- agenda   minutes
January 17, 2018- agenda    minutes
March 21, 2018- agenda    minutes
May 16, 2018- agenda  minutes
School Plans, Inventory Assessments and Funding
Funding Estimates for 2018-19 $203,000
Actual Funding 2017-2018 (including carryover) $192,000
Actual Funding 2016-2017 $136,308
Actual Funding 2015-2016 $123,351
Actual Funding 2014-2015 $94,643
Actual Funding 2013-2014 $91,879
*Please note: Funding and Estimate could change depending on enrollment changes
Purpose of the Community Council:

A Community Council shall be formed at each school to provide a sounding board for the principal to be used in the performance of his/her designated duties and responsibilities.  Actions of the school Community Council shall be advisory in nature.  Community Councils shall consist of at least seven (7) members, including four (4) parents/guardians, and three (3) employee members (including the principal).

Each school Community Council shall:

  • Annually evaluate the school’s assessment results and use the evaluation in developing a School Improvement Plan.
  • Develop the School Land Trust Program.
  • Develop and implement a Professional Development Plan.
  • Develop a child access routing plan and make recommendations relating to the community environment for students. (Elementary)
  • Develop a Reading Achievement Plan. (Elementary)
  • Create subcommittees and/or task forces as needed.

 

How you can be involved in Community Council:
In 2017-18, for the first time in a while, we had more parent-volunteers for our Community Council (7) than we had slots available to serve (5).  Which means that we had an election, as required by law.  To this end, our Community Council elections were held Monday-Wednesday, September 11-12-13, 2017 during school hours, up to and including our first Parent-Teacher Conference from 4:00 -7:00 p.m.  The paper ballots and ballot box was accessible in the front office during this time, after which we counted the ballots and notified everyone of the results.
 
We do not anticipate holding an election for the 2018-2019 school year because our parent-volunteers will be staying on Community Council.
 
Meetings are conducted following Roberts Rules of Order